Oh the Places You’ll Go….

The venerable childrens’ book author Dr. Seuss said many wise things, but this is my favorite quote. Books have long been a passion of mine, and I am always on the lookout for new treasures to add to my bookshelf. When friends ask me how I can be such a bookworm, I answer that a good book can help you live a life within a life, and what other hobby can do that?

Due to my incurable (I hope!) wanderlust, I’ve spent the last few years reading every travel book I can get my hands on. Not guidebooks but real life stories from all over the world written by people in every type of life situation. In the last few years I have hiked the Pacific Crest Trail, crossed Siberia in an old van, explored the Florida Everglades, criss-crossed Europe, enjoyed la belle vie of French country life, and built my dream villa in Tuscany. Vicariously, at least for now.

I’ve always believed that sharing something wonderful increases its enjoyment, so below is a list of some of my favorite travel stories. Each writer’s voice is unique but they all share the most essential quality of travel writing; to paint such a vivid picture of the characters, sounds, smells, and atmosphere of a place that I can practically taste the Provençal olive oil and feel the chill of an Oxford dorm room. I hope you will feel the same way. Happy travels!

  • Under the Tuscan Sun” by Frances Mayes

  • French Lessons: Adventures with Knife, Fork, and Corkscrew”, “Toujours Provence”, and “A Year in Provence” by Peter Mayle

  • Without Reservations” by Alice Steinbach

  • The Bullfighter Checks Her Makeup” by Susan Orlean

  • Travels in Siberia” by Ian Frazier

Leave a Reply

