A New Adventure Begins with Stampli

A few months ago (although sometimes it seems like much longer than that), I was messaged by a recruiter through LinkedIn who thought I was a great fit for a job that she was looking to fill. The role was for a local startup. After speaking with her, her manager, and the hiring team, I felt a bit overwhelmed, but very excited. Accepting a role as Marketing Director at Stampli had me feeling a bit out of my element. In previous roles, I’d usually been the ‘executor’, not the ‘strategist’. This opportunity meant taking on full responsibility for the growth of all traditional marketing channels as well as the new territory of “growth marketing”.

Taking a deep breath and reminding myself to be confident in my ability to adapt and learn, I accepted the job offer and began in January. Within a week my to-do list started inching down the page and I had to remind myself to:

keepcalm

A few months into the job and I’ve done more than I thought possible, and yet every day feels like I’m starting over. There’s always more to do, and ever tighter deadlines to meet, but my team is wonderfully supportive and I have learned a lot. On a daily basis, my to-do list includes email outreach, social media, PPC strategy, content marketing, website edits, community evangelism, event planning, and the list goes on and on….

As I was running through my list today and starting to feel like the executor again, I had to remind myself to take a step back and look at the big picture. A deep breath (and a large cup of almond milk and sugar laced coffee) helped me re-focus on the fact that I needed to get back to the basics. Go with my instincts and play to my strengths. Don’t get dragged down in minutiae, but hold tight to my pursuit of finding the right channels, creating the right content for those channels, and engaging with people we can help. So I began writing this blog. And now, sharing it with you, dear reader. And hoping it helps you in your work. That, in a nutshell, is the reason for this blog post.

As the journey continues to develop a robust Marketing program here at Stampli, I’ll need this occasional reminder to get back to the basics. And I’m sure many of the people reading this post feel the same way. I’d love to hear your stories as well.

The startup adventure continues!

Theresa is the Marketing Director at Stampli, a cloud-based interactive invoice management solution that streamlines Accounts Payable processes efficiently and cost-effectively. Learn more. 

Leave a Reply

